• Next on Myeloma Crowd Radio
    • Uncategorized
    • Apr 10, 2015

    MCRI High-Risk Myeloma Series: Fighting the Devil Del17p, Dr. Orlowski, MD, PhD, MD Anderson, Thursday, April 16 @ 9:30 am CST

Thursday, April 16, 7:30 am PST, 8:30 am MST, 9:30 am CST,10:30 am EST

Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer

Deletion 17p is the most aggressive high-risk feature in myeloma. Why? New research shows that it may be because del17p is influenced by the induction of genes that would normally be repressed by p53 (a gene that regulates tumor suppression). And that del17p may also become “addicted” to these genes. Discovering these specific genes and the survivin protein may help uncover a completely new way to help del17p myeloma patients respond to myeloma treatment.

Join us for our third interview on Myeloma Crowd Radio highlighting the new Myeloma Crowd Research Initiative on high-risk myeloma. For the first time, patients and doctors are joining together to find and fund research for a patient group that is desperate for new options. 

Robert Z. Orlowski, MD, PhD, is Director of Myeloma, and Professor of Medicine in the Departments of Lymphoma/Myeloma and Experimental Therapeutics, Division of Cancer Medicine, at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. He is board-certified in internal medicine and medical oncology. Dr. Orlowski earned his doctoral degree in molecular biophysics and biochemistry from Yale University and his medical degree from the Yale University School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Barnes Hospital at the Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine. Dr. Orlowski leads the SWOG committee and has published numerous book chapters, articles, and abstracts on cancer therapy, with a focus on the molecular pathogenesis of oncologic disease processes and the mechanisms of action of chemotherapeutics.

About Author

Jenny A

Myeloma survivor, patient advocate, wife, mom of 6. Believer that patients can help accelerate a cure by weighing in and participating in clinical trials. Founder of Myeloma Crowd, Myeloma Crowd Radio and the CrowdCare Foundation.

MYELOMA CROWD RESEARCH INITIATIVE
$52,448 of $500,000 Raised
BRINGING THE RIGHT TREATMENT TO THE PATIENT AT THE RIGHT TIME
Please Help Us Reach Our Goal

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Thanks to our site sponsors: