Hello Myeloma Crowd Radio Archives - The Myeloma Crowd

Full Show: Myeloma Progress and Where We’re Headed Next with Robert Orlowski, MD, PhD, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Thanks to our episode sponsor Robert Z. Orlowski, MD, PhD MD Anderson Cancer Center Interview Date: January 5, 2017 Summary The year 2017 promises to be another exciting one in multiple myeloma. Dr. Robert Orlowski shares key developments from last year and what we have to look forward to in the coming year. [...]

Read More

Full Show: Ask the Myeloma Experts – Patient Questions from the St. Louis Myeloma Crowd Round Table Meeting

Thanks to our episode sponsor Ask the Myeloma Experts Myeloma Crowd Round Table in St. Louis December 30, 2016 Summary It's a rare opportunity to have a panel of myeloma experts available to answer any patient question that may be asked. Experts at our Myeloma Crowd Round Tables answered common patient questions at [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Most Effective Strategies for Newly Diagnosed Myeloma and Relapse with Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD, U of Chicago, Wednesday, October 19 @ 10 am Central

Wednesday, October 19, 8 am Pacific, 9 am Mountain, 10 am Central, 11 am Eastern Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer What is the most effective treatment for newly diagnosed patients? And what can multiple myeloma patients try if they relapse current medications or treatments early? With [...]

Read More

Full Show: The Importance of Proteasome Inhibitors in Myeloma and Their Evolution in the New Age of Myeloma Therapy with Dr. Jacob Laubach, MD, MPP, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Thanks to our episode sponsor Dr. Jacob Laubach, MD, MPP Dana Farber Cancer Institute Interview Date: May 13, 2016 Summary Proteasome inhibitors have been a staple of myeloma therapy since the late 1990s. Because they are so key to the death of myeloma cells, they have continued to be developed and now a [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Killing Myeloma Stem Cells to Prevent Myeloma Progression Using a Monoclonal Antibody with Dr. William Matsui, Friday, May 6 @ 1 pm EST

Friday, May 6, 10 am PST, 11 am MST, Noon CST, 1 pm EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer Myeloma stem cells are believed to cause the growth of multiple myeloma and can continue to mature into myeloma plasma cells, even while on treatment. Dr. Matsui [...]

Read More

Full Show: The Road to Myeloma Recovery During and After Myeloma Treatment with Melanie House, DPT, NCS

Thanks to our episode sponsor Melanie J. House, DPT, NCS Clinical Specialist Department of Rehabilitation Therapies University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Interview Date: April 26, 2016 Summary Myeloma treatment can be physically brutal. Melanie House is a physical therapist who shares her approach to recovery for patients in treatment and post-transplant. She [...]

Read More

Full Show: Not Giving Up on Treatment Options for Relapsed/Refractory Myeloma Patients with Dr. David Siegel, MD, PhD, John Theurer Cancer Center

Thanks to our episode sponsor Dr. David Siegel, MD, PhD John Theurer Cancer Center Interview Date: April 15, 2016 Summary If multiple myeloma patients relapse or become refractory to existing medications, it doesn't mean the disease has won. Dr. David Siegel explains the difference between "relapsed" and "refractory" and shares a hopeful message [...]

Read More

Full Show: Achieving Minimal Residual Disease with Myeloma Vaccines with Dr. David Avigan, MD Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Thanks to our episode sponsor Dr. David Avigan, MD Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Interview Date: March 11, 2016 Summary "Minimal Residual Disease" is the trace amount of myeloma that can be left even after treatment is over. Dr. David Avigan of the Beth Israel Medical Center is intent on eliminating the rest [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Myeloma Vaccines to Eliminate Minimal Residual Disease with Dr. David Avigan, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Friday, March 11 @ 4 pm EST

Friday, March 11, 1 PST, 2 pm MST, 3 pm CST, 4 pm EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer Immunotherapy combinations are making headway in multiple myeloma treatment to help eliminate minimal residual disease. At the ASH 2015 conference Dr. David Avigan, MD of the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center [...]

Read More

Full Show: Combining Myeloma Vaccines and T Cell Therapies with Stem Cell Transplant with Dr. Muzaffar Qazilbash, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Thanks to our Episode Sponsor, Takeda Oncology Dr. Muzaffar Qazilbash, MD MD Anderson Cancer Center Interview Date: February 25, 2016 Summary Immunotherapies are the "next big thing" in multiple myeloma care but it may be too early to have them replace effective treatments like autologous stem cell transplant, iMiDs and proteasome inhibitors. Dr. Muzaffar [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: (Thursday, Feb 25, 3:30 CST) Combining New Myeloma Immunotherapies with Time-Tested Treatments with Dr. Muzaffar Qazilbash, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Thursday, February 25, 1:30 PST, 2:30 MST, 3:30 CST, 4:30 EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer New immunotherapies are coming to early clinical trials in multiple myeloma. What does this mean for existing treatments like autologous stem cell transplant? Will the treatments converge for better effect [...]

Read More

Full Show: A New BCMA Test to Track Multiple Myeloma Levels with Dr. James R. Berenson, MD, IMBCR

Thanks to our Episode Sponsor, Takeda Oncology Dr. James R. Berenson, MD Institute for Myeloma and Bone Cancer Research Interview Date: February 5, 2016 Summary Dr. James Berenson, MD shares his work on a new test being developed to track myeloma. This test measures the amount of a specific protein called BCMA which is [...]

Read More

Our Next Show (Fri, 2/5, Noon PST): BCMA Test in Development to Track Myeloma Growth with Dr. James Berenson, MD, IMBCR

Friday, February 5, Noon PST, 1 pm MST, 2 pm CST, 3 pm EST  Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer Multiple myeloma is typically tracked by measuring the M-protein, also called the "M-spike." But in some patients, the M-protein gets lost, making it difficult if not impossible [...]

Read More

Full Show: The Hopeful Future of Multiple Myeloma in 2016 with Dr. Kenneth Anderson, MD, PhD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology Dr. Kenneth Anderson, MD, PhD Dana Farber Cancer Institute Interview Date: January 22, 2016 Summary Dr. Kenneth Anderson, MD, PhD of the Dana Farber Cancer Institute joins Myeloma Crowd Radio to outline the most important work being done in multiple myeloma in the coming year. He [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: New Type of Myeloma Treatment Called JSK Moving Forward with Dr. Paul Shami, MD, Huntsman Cancer, Thursday Jan 14 @ 3 pm CST

Thursday, January 14, 1 pm PST, 2 pm MST, 3 pm CST, 4 pm EST  Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer JSK is the first in its class with a new and unique method of killing multiple myeloma. It has a broad-spectrum anti-cancer activity, especially for myeloma and [...]

Read More

Full Show: An Incredible Year for Multiple Myeloma. Highlights with Dr. Robert Orlowski, MD, PhD, MD Anderson

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Amgen Dr. Robert Orlowski, MD, PhD MD Anderson Cancer Center Interview Date: December 18, 2015 Summary This will be remembered as a banner year for multiple myeloma with the introduction of 5 new FDA-approved drugs. Dr. Orlowski gives us his take on the year with a "Top 12" [...]

Read More

Full Show: Important Steps for Dealing with High Risk Multiple Myeloma with Dr. Guido Tricot, MD, PhD, University of Iowa

Thanks to our episode sponsor Takeda Oncology Dr. Guido Tricot, MD, PhD University of Iowa Interview Date: December 5, 2015 Summary Dr. Tricot joins Myeloma Crowd Radio from the ASH 2015 conference in Orlando to talk about high risk myeloma. While standard treatments have become much more effective, 15-20% of patients have high [...]

Read More

Full Show: Finding a Clinical Trial That’s Right For Your Myeloma using SparkCures with Brian McMahon

Special thanks to our episode sponsor, Amgen. Brian McMahon CEO and Founder, SparkCures Interview Date: December 6, 2015 Summary Clinical trials are the way that newer and better treatments are brought to multiple myeloma patients, but finding one that's right for you can be completely overhwhelming. Brian McMahon's mother died of an aggressive [...]

Read More

Full Show: Exciting Myeloma Announcements and What to Watch For at ASH 2015 with Dr. Ola Landgren, MD, PhD, MSKCC

This episode sponsored by Takeda Oncology Dr. Ola Landgren, MD, PhD Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Interview Date: November 20, 2015 Summary Two new drugs were announced in a single week for myeloma treatment and the pace is ever increasing. Dr. Ola Landgren at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center shares more about the [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: The Explosion of New Myeloma Therapies – an IMWG Rome Review and ASH Preview with Dr. Ola Landgren, MD, PhD, MSKCC, Friday, Nov 20 @ 1 pm Est

Friday, November 20, 10 am PST, 11 am MST, Noon CST, 1 pm EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer New developments for multiple myeloma are happening at an ever increasing pace and one important conference has just concluded while another is happening soon. Dr. Ola Landgren [...]

Read More

Full Show: Using Antibiotics in Myeloma Combos To Kill Myeloma Cells by Reducing Inflammation with Dr. Tomer Mark, MD, Weill Cornell Medical Center

Special thanks to our episode sponsor, Amgen Dr. Tomer Mark, MD Weill Cornell Medical Center Interview Date: November 9, 2015 Summary Antibiotics can be used in combination with standard myeloma drugs to increase their myeloma-killing impact. A common antibiotic, clarithromycin (typically used for sinus infections) has been tested in myeloma and has found [...]

Read More

Hitting Both the Surface and Interior of Multiple Myeloma cells Using New Immunotherapies with Dr. Djordje Atanackovic, MD

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Takeda Oncology Dr. Djordje Atanackovic, MD Huntsman Cancer Institute Interview Date: October 16, 2015 Summary Dr. Djordje Atanackovic of the Huntsman Cancer Institute explains the difference between genetic therapy (targeting specific genes or proteins) and cellular therapy (like auto and allo transplants and CAR T cell therapy) in [...]

Read More

Full Show: Lessons Learned from CAR19 and Next Steps at UPENN for CAR T Cell Research in Multiple Myeloma, with Dr. Adam Cohen, MD

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Amgen Dr. Adam Cohen, MD University of Pennsylvania Interview Date: October 8, 2015 Summary Dr. Carl June at the University of Pennsylvania has been working on the use of CAR T cells against blood cancers for over a decade. Work by him and his group is now bearing fruit. [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: The Timing and Use of Immunotherapies in Multiple Myeloma with Dr. Djordje Atanackovic, MD, Huntsman Cancer Institute, Friday, October 16 @ 4 pm CST

Friday, October 16, 2 pm PST, 3 pm MST, 4 pm CST, 5 pm EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer With the explosion in immunotherapies for multiple myeloma, we have heard there are "windows" of best and most effective use. What are those windows and when [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Up Next at UPENN – Building on the CAR 19 Multiple Myeloma Success and Beyond with Dr. Adam Cohen, Thursday, October 8 @ 2 pm CST

Thursday, October 8, Noon PST, 1 pm MST, 2 pm CST, 3 pm EST  Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer The University of Pennsylvania had tremendous results with a recent clinical trial using a CAR T cell treatment targeting CD19 for a myeloma patient. The results were [...]

Read More

Full Show: Low-to-no-chemo allo myeloma transplant (!) and immune therapy with auto transplant with Dr. Daniel Fowler, MD, NIH

Thanks to our episode sponsor, Amgen Dr. Daniel Fowler, MD National Institutes of Health (NIH) Interview Date: September 25, 2015 Summary How can doctors make both auto and allogeneic transplants better? Using allo transplant is the ultimate in immunotherapy because it replaces a faulty immune system with a healthy one, but it is [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Combining Immunotherapies with Standard Multiple Myeloma Treatments with Dr. Daniel Fowler, MD, NIH Friday, Sepet 25 @ 3 pm CST

Friday, September 25, 1 pm PST, 2 pm MST, 3 pm CST, 4 pm EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer Immunotherapies are making their way into the clinic and as they do, more exciting options will be available for patients. Researchers are now studying the best possible way [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Exciting Immunotherapies in the Multiple Myeloma Clinic with Dr. Don Benson, Friday, Sept 18 @ 11 am CST

Friday, September 18, 9 am PST, 10 am MST, 11 am CST, Noon EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live Via Computer Options for multiple myeloma patients are growing, especially in the area of what is called immunotherapy, or using the immune system to fight cancer. These new therapies [...]

Read More

Our Next Show: Shutting Down Myeloma Progression in Smoldering Myeloma with Dr. Ajay Nooka, MD, MPH, FACP

Thursday, February 19, 2015, 8 am PST, 9 am MST, 10 am CST, 11 am EST Call In by Phone to Listen Live: (347) 637-2631 or Listen Live via Computer Can multiple myeloma be cured by shutting it down early before it turns from smoldering to active myeloma? Dr. Ajay Nooka, MD of the [...]

Read More

Newer approaches for relapsed/refractory myeloma patients with Dr. Ravi Vij, MD, Washington University School of Medicine

Dr. Ravi Vij, MD Washington University School of Medicine Interview Date: January 29, 2015 Summary Dr. Ravi Vij, MD, discusses newer options for relapsed/refractory myeloma patients. He shares that little is known about why some patients become drug resistant and says that drug resistance can't be predicted. He notes the complexities of myeloma, that there [...]

Read More

A 2015 Myeloma Therapy Preview with Dr. Robert Orlowski

Dr. Robert Z. Orlowski, MD, PhD MD Anderson Cancer Center Interview Date: January 9, 2015 Summary Dr. Orlowski begins the new year by highlighting some of the most important myeloma therapies that will take us into 2015. He reminds us of the new International Myeloma Working Group guidelines that allow for earlier treatment in smoldering [...]

Read More

Myeloma Highlights From the ASH Conference

According to Jack Aiello (definitely not medically trained) PREFACE This is my 9th year attending ASH (American Society of Hematology), where over 26,000 attendees (most ever) from all over the world (hematologists/oncologists, lab researchers, oncology nurses, scientists & 300 pharma companies) presented latest research results via both oral presentations (1000) as well as posters (3000) [...]

Read More

Why wait for end organ damage to treat myeloma? New IMWG guidelines allow earlier intervention with Dr. Vincent Rajkumar, MD Mayo Clinic

MPATIENT MYELOMA RADIO IS BECOMING MYELOMA CROWD RADIO IN 2015! Dr. Vincent Rajkumar, MD Mayo Clinic Interview Date: November 20 Summary Dr. Vincent Rajkumar, MD, of the Mayo Clinic shares the very large number of changes by the International Myeloma Working Group for the treatment of myeloma. This is a group created by the IMF with over [...]

Read More

mPatient Myeloma Radio is Becoming Myeloma Crowd Radio in 2015

BY JENNY AHLSTROM After I finished three years of myeloma treatment, I was cautiously optimistic but realistically worried about the future of my health. Would the aggressive treatment I had "stick" for years or would I have an aggressive form of myeloma that would cause an immediate relapse?  Because I am not keen on a [...]

Read More

Get Started Today.

Find a Clinical Trial that's Right for You

Thanks to our site sponsors: